Hearts of War

August 18, 2009

I am not sure what to think of this one. It takes place in the early part of WWII and is about a love affair between a young, romantic, anti-war German officer and his Jewish lover. They are separated and then brought back together and then separated and then brought back together. The cast includes Daryl Hannah and Roy Scheider but their parts are small, especially Scheider’s. The acting is not without merit, but the plot line seems to lack pizzazz. As a result the whole thing just sort of happens, maybe even drags on a bit. If I had gone to the movie house to watch this movie I would probably have been disappointed, but as a late night time-killer it passes muster. That is, I wouldn’t go out of my way to view this one but if it happens to come on TV while you are vegging out then take a look.

Leave a comment